Choosing to go to a Christian College

Hi! My name is Hannah Wolfe.

This is my first ever blog post and I have to say, I’m pretty darn excited about it.

I have always thought about starting something like this, but there’s something inside every middle school or high school student’s mind that tells them that nobody cares about their opinions or that they can never succeed at anything. When you make your way to college, however, that mindset begins to change. You begin to see that while everybody has different dreams, goals, and visions for their lives, we all have the same driving ambition that can truly make these dreams possible.

Choosing what college you are going to attend is a huge decision that, if we are all honest with ourselves, we are never truly prepared to make. Where you go to college effects the rest of your life.

Literally.

I cannot stress to you enough how much I struggled with this decision. There are so many options out there and it all gets a bit overwhelming. There are a million questions that run through your head and you are the only person who can answer all of them. It’s frustrating, it’s stressful, and it takes a toll on you.

The one question that stuck out in my mind the most was whether or not to go to a Christian college. I have been a Christian since I was 14 years old. The story of my conversion is a long one that would be better told in a different post. What I will say, however, is that from the very moment I gave my life to Christ, I knew what I wanted to do for the rest of my years here on earth. I knew that I wanted to play music. It took a couple more years for God to reveal exactly what it was that I was supposed to do with music, and during those years I asked myself almost daily if I would really want to be at a Christian school.

Christian schools, in my mind, were filled with only people who either thought they were perfect and didn’t feel the need to change anything about their sinful lives, or were kicked out of or not accepted into secular schools, and in turn came to the Christian school to get “straightened out”. This had been my experience with Christian schools. I had spent some time in a couple of different Christian schools, and I had come to the conclusion that this was the way that they all were. Hypocritical, self-righteous, and in desperate need of a reality check.

I truly believed that going to a secular school would be a better decision for me. I thought that the Christians there, because they weren’t forced into a spiritual lifestyle, would be more real in their faith. I thought that it would give me a better mission field. I thought that I could use it as a test, and that if I could stand strong in a secular school, I could truly make it in the real world.

So in my mind, that was it. I was going to a secular school.

In time, however, God began to show me that not only would I be going into music, but that I would be going into worship music.

So how, you may be wondering, was I supposed to study worship music at a secular school?

I wasn’t.

Worship degrees, as you may have guessed, are only offered at Christian colleges. This made God’s call on my life frustrating to say the least. That wasn’t what I had wanted. That wasn’t what I had planned. But that didn’t matter. The only thing that mattered was that I had a calling and I needed to fulfill it. Sure, I could have said no. I could have done what I wanted to do anyway. I could have told God to choose somebody else for His task and gone my own direction. And I seriously considered doing that.

But then one day a thought hit me that I could not get out of my mind

If I’m not doing what I’m called to do, how am I ever going to be satisfied?

I have previously lived a life of unbelief. I have been through the lifestyle of thinking I knew better than God. I have sought after things to replace God and His purpose in my life. And because I had been through it, I knew that nothing would ever satisfy me if I wasn’t doing the will of my Savior. How could I claim to love God and claim to have given my life to Christ yet not let Him have my future?

After this thought was ingrained in my mind, the decision to follow His call became much easier. Things began to just fall into place and questions began to be answered for me. What was I to do with my life? Lead worship. What people group was I to minister to? Youth and young adults. What kind of college was I supposed to go to? A Christian college.

So here I am. A Child of God being trained in worship and youth ministry at Liberty University.

The story of how I came to choose Liberty specifically is a story for another day and another post. But what I can tell you is that God was very evident in my journey to become a student here. I’m not saying that Christian universities are for everybody. I am not telling you that going to a Christian college is the only way a Christian student can please the Lord. I am saying, however, that if you ask Him to, God will reveal to you where He would have you to be. Whether that’s a secular college, a Christian college, or even to not go to college, if you are doing the will of God then you are exactly where you should be.

Don’t be afraid to do what you were created for.

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

