Mission Trip to Disney World?

It is no secret to most people now that I have been accepted into the Disney College Program. This is by far one of the most exciting things that has ever happened to me. I have dreamed of working at Disney World since an extremely young age, and I have wanted to get into the Disney College Program since I heard about it a few years ago. The Disney College Program is an internship where you go and live for a semester (or two) in either California or Florida, and work in the Disney parks and resorts. You have an option to take classes while you are there as well. This is a much sought after internship, and it is extremely difficult to get into. I have been offered a position working in quick food service in Orlando, Florida. I will, however, be attending a character performer audition in a few weeks, and if all goes well I may be offered a position in the entertainment area of Disney instead.

This was the second time that I applied to be a part of this program. The first time I applied, I did not get any further than a web based interview that they send to everybody who applies. I was not heartbroken, however, as I knew that I could apply again. I applied the very day I got the email that applications were open again. I completed the web interview as quickly as possible, and within the next 24 hours I was offered a phone interview. After a couple of weeks my phone interview took place, and a couple of weeks after that I was accepted into the program. The thing is, though, I want to do it for completely different reasons than I used to. It isn’t really about me anymore. My family and I went to Orlando over Christmas break and I was able to see some of the the students who were a part of the program and see a lot of the different people working in different areas of Disney. My heart completely broke for them. They are lost. They are longing for something to complete them yet they have no clue what it is. They’re missing God in their lives. But I still did not make the connection until after I completed the web interview. I finally figured out that this program is a calling. This is a call to action. This is a call to go somewhere I have never been and to share my hope with everyone I come into contact with. There is a good chance that I will be one of the only Christians there, and an even better chance that I will be the only one who is open about my faith and making it a priority. I have never before been in an environment where my faith is not the cultural norm and where I could very easily be ridiculed for my faith. And I have never been more excited to do any type of mission work. This is it. This is real life. This is no longer me going away for a week and coming back to normal life. I will be required to eat, sleep, and breathe Christ. Everything I say and do will be watched and inspected. It is terrifying, but also exciting. According to scripture, I will have many opportunities where I will be required to give a reason for the hope that I have, and I cannot wait for that.

God is so incredible. He has given me so many opportunities in my life and continues to bless me, even through my unbelief and doubt. He cares about and loves me through my periods of rebellion and my deliberate disobedience of Him. I do not deserve the opportunities that He gives me, yet he continues to. I am so grateful for Him and what He is doing in my life through scripture, prayer, and the people He has placed in my life. Please pray for me as I head into this new season of life. Pray as I am preparing. Pray for my spiritual walk. Pray for the hearts of those I will minister to to be prepared for what God will say to them. Pray that I will stay on the right path while I am there and live in a way that shows Him in everything I do. Pray that I will be able to financially support myself as I am there. And most importantly, pray that God will receive glory through everything that happens while I am there.

About the post

Uncategorized

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. very proud of you Hannah

    Like

  2. Hannah, this is wonderful news!! I am so happy for you and will be praying for you as you prepare for this and while you are there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

