Community

I truly believe that one of the greatest gifts that God ever gave us was the gift of community. We were made for relationships. Everyone, no matter how introverted, has friends and family that they love. It’s so amazing to me.

I have been hit recently with this realization of how blessed I am to have community in my life. I have family. I have two parents who love me and encourage me in every area in my life, whether it’s consoling me in tough times or rejoicing with me in my accomplishments. I have two brothers who give some of the best advice in the world, and although they don’t say it often, I know that they love me as much as I love them. I have grandparents, cousins, an aunt, and an uncle who all keep up with me and are proud of how far I have grown this past year, both in the Lord and in maturity.

I have been blessed with friends and mentors who are so close to me that they may as well be family. People who have been there for me in times when my own family was unable to be. People who treat me as if I were their own child, disciplining me and talking me through problems that I have. People who check on me to make sure I’m doing okay. People who are so in love with God that they can’t help but talk about Him all the time. Seeing God impact these people that I so strongly look up to has created that same desire for Christ in my own life.

I have been blessed with a group of friends that I never could have imagined would be in my life. People from back home who still text me all the time to remind me how much they miss me and ask me when I’m coming back. Classmates who went beyond what was required of us and grew to love me the same way that I love them. People who accept me in all of my oddness, who recognize me as an equal, and who constantly inspire me to grow in my music and spiritual walk the way that I see that growth in them. I have had friends to laugh with me. I have had friends sit and listen to my problems. I have had friends who gathered around me when I was on the floor in tears and prayed over me. I have had friends who have reminded me what it means to be a child of God, and what a gift for music and writing that He has given me.

I am completely amazed by all of these people. God truly has blessed us with community. Even in rough times, He provides people in our lives who make us feel loved in times when we otherwise would feel completely alone. Even in our hurt and desperation, we have a solid foundation in Christ and a group of people around us who build us up. The body of Christ is such an amazing thing. There are people all around the world that I have never met that I get to call my brothers and sisters in Christ. People with all different gifts and abilities, who all work together to create a working unit to share the good news of Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection with the world. God has never abandoned us. Psalm 37:23-25 says, “The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand. Once I was young, and now I am old. Yet I have never seen the godly abandoned or their children begging for bread.” This verse has hit me hard in the past couple of days. Life is not perfect. Things happen. People hurt us, and we hurt people. We will stumble. It’s inevitable. But this verse promises that although we stumble, He is holding us by the hand so that we won’t fall. He is always there, providing for us in ways that we may never notice. God has provided for me by giving me a community to comfort and walk with me through times that are tough and times that are full of joy. I am truly thankful for all of the people who are in my life right now. I pray for you all daily and I thank God for the gift of our relationships constantly. Our God is so good.

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

