A Letter to My Fellow Cast Members

Dear Cast (or, as Haley would say, my “Oklahomies”),

Wow. What a journey. Can you believe it’s actually over? It feels like it was just yesterday that we started rehearsal, yet at the same time I feel like I have known you all forever.

Hopefully none of you saw me tear up in the green room yesterday. When Jason started praying, it hit me that it was the last time we would all be together like that. The tears came and all the emotions I had held back from this entire season of life fell out into the open. I would like to share with you all a little insight into my life and why this show meant so much to me.

Last year was easily the hardest year of my life. That may sound dramatic, but it really was. I haven’t had a very easy life, and I could sit for hours and tell you all about it. But on top of everything, the past year definitely took the prize for most difficult. So many things happened that changed my life drastically, and I truly had nothing. Near the end of the year, however, things began to look up. I found friends that became like a family. I had a job lined up for after I graduated college. I had a plan for marriage and a family with a godly man and I had a peace that my life was finally going to come together in a way I have always wanted it to. Every prayer I had prayed since I was 14 was answered.

I auditioned for Oklahoma on a whim. I’ve told a few of you how I found Masterworx, and how I was in the mood to do a show, looked up “Lynchburg community theatre” on google, and auditioned two days later. It was just something fun to add to my life that was already going so well. But during that week or so between auditions and the first rehearsal, I lost everything. My job was no longer existent. My “friends” abandoned me completely. The man I was going to marry was no longer in the picture. Every person who claimed to love me and want me in their life for many years to come suddenly decided that I was no longer worth the effort. In a matter of three days I lost everything I had worked so hard to gain.

This show meant so much more to me than just making some more friends. For this past two months, this show has been all I had. When I would be having a rough day, I would just remind myself that I got to go to rehearsal that night. It was my source of friendship and community. It was a source of inspiration. It was a place for me to be able to see that not everybody leaves and some people can actually love the way Christ calls us to. I have been able to do so much more than I ever thought I could. You all saw me dance at that first rehearsal, so you know I’m telling the truth when I saw that I NEVER imagined I could dance and be even mediocre. I gained more confidence in the singing voice God gave me, and I learned that I’m more talented than I have ever given myself credit for. I was reminded that, even though our lives are about God’s glory and not simply our happiness, it is okay to be happy and do things that we enjoy. I have been given the courage to change my major, and do things with my future that I never thought I would be able to do.

I want you all to know what a joy it has been to be a part of this cast. Meeting and getting to know all of you has changed my life significantly, and I truly do love you and pray that you were able to get as much out of this experience as I was and that you will be able to see the workings of God in your own lives and come to love him more through it. Thank you for being a part of my life and showing me my worth in ways I have never seen it before.

I’ve got a beautiful feelin’, everything’s goin’ my way! Oh, what a beautiful day!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Wow! You did it again, sweet girl. I had no idea that so much had happened to you. It’s tough when people you count on reject you. Certainly, Jesus knows all about rejection, but He is one friend that “sticks closer than a brother,” and will never reject any of us.

    Thank you for telling others that it is okay to be happy. God provides that inner peace and joy even when things go wrong. How great He is!

    I look forward to talking with you tomorrow.

    Love,

    GiGi Granny

    Like

Leave a Reply

