When I Don’t Know What to Do

Many people who know me know that I have a GIGANTIC list of future blog posts that I want to write. I have even written a few of them already that are just waiting in my computer to be released. It seems crazy because I don’t feel like I post often enough, but I never want to post something that isn’t needed by somebody. I never want to post without the Holy Spirit leading me to do so, and that is where I find myself tonight. I feel extremely lead to write about this subject. It’s been coming up so much for me in the past week, and I know that I’m not the only one.

The past couple of weeks have held some devastating news and events for many people in my life. A friend of mine lost his home and entire business, his entire life, in a terrible fire. A family member, somebody very close to me, has just been diagnosed with a terrible illness and is not expected to have nearly as much time as we all thought we would have with him. (More on this subject to come.) I have friends going through breakups, I have friends going through intense seasons of depression, and all around me I see people asking the question over and over again, “Is God really good?”

It doesn’t seem like it sometimes. We look at our circumstances and we see the pain around us and it just does not seem possible that a “Good Good Father” could allow any of it to happen. Is he even hearing our prayers? Does he even see how much we hurt? Does he hear us crying throughout the night, wanting nothing more than some peace and comfort? Where is this good God in the midst of these bad situations? When is help coming? What are we supposed to do?

Tonight was the Liberty University School of Music’s 9th Annual Night of Worship. I could write for hours just on how amazing it was to worship with my fellow students and the people who came to see it, but right now I want to hone in on one song in particular, When I Don’t Know What to Do by Tommy Walker. If you have never heard it, here is a link to listen to it:

When I Don’t Know What to Do

I have sang this song many, many times. It’s a great piece musically and it never fails to get a reaction from the crowd. But after performing this song three times today, I am able to see so much more. This song was my cry to God today. It was my declaration of belief. Because right now, I don’t know what to do. I don’t know what to say. I don’t know where to go. I don’t know what to think. I have been asking God what he wants me to do, and he hasn’t told me yet. So, in the meantime, I will lift my hands. I’ll speak his praise. I will run to his throne, and I will stand on his truth. Because that is all I CAN do. I’ve said to my friends and family so many times that I don’t think life is ever going to just be good. There will always be tragedy, there will always be difficult situations, and there will always be pain. There is only one constant, and that is Jesus Christ. He is it.

We need to stop basing God’s goodness on what he is or is not allowing to happen to us. We need to stop basing his goodness on the decisions other people make. We need to stop basing his goodness on the level of happiness that we feel. God is not only good when he does things the way that we want him to. His definition of good is not the same that we as humans believe. We have to learn to let go of what we think is good so that he can work in our lives the way that he wants to. God is good. It’s just who he is.

A psalm of Asaph. Surely God is good to Israel, to those who are pure in heart.” -Psalm 73:1

You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.” -Genesis 50:20

‘Why ask me about what is good?’ Jesus replied. ‘There is only One who is good.’” -Matthew 19:17

Since everything God created is good, we should not reject any of it but receive it with thanks.” -1 Timothy 4:4

I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd sacrifices his life for the sheep.” -John 10:11

He is so good. No matter what he allows into our lives, no matter who decides to make a wrong decision, no matter what illness or tragedy may befall us, he is good through it all. So, let us lift our hands, speak his praise, run to his throne, and stand on his truth. When we don’t know what to do or where to go, he is always right there leading us on, one step at a time.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Amen. I found this to be very encouraging and very God-honoring! Thanks for writing it.

    Like

  2. Love the song! Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

